The Historic Winyah Auditorium
The Historic Winyah Auditorium is a 501(3)c non profit, run by an all volunteer Board of Directors and a part-time Managing Director. Board members come from diverse backgrounds, having had careers in health care, public service, education, banking, and various business
We are supported by grants from the City and County of Georgetown, as well as by memberships and sponsorships by generous individuals and local businesses.
Michelle Lusardi (Chair)
Patti Burns (Membership)
Jerry Crosby (Properties)
Gary Gates (Sponsorship)
Pat Nooft (Volunteers)
Michelle Randolph (at large member)
We seek to:
Production & Volunteers Team
This historic building was erected in 1907-8, on what had been the city "commons" on Highmarket Street between Cleland and Dozier Streets. The first event held in the auditorium was a town meeting in March 1908. Initially the building served as an elementary school, and them became the junior high school and finally the high school for the town. A fire in 1981 resulted in significant smoke damage to the Auditorium. The last class of "Gators" graduated in 1985, when the new Georgetown High School was completed.
A group of dedicated citizens "saved" the building from demolition by petitioning to have it placed on the on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998. Although initially used by the city of Georgetown and Coastal Carolina University for offices, it eventually was abandoned and boarded up.
Two decades later, a group of devoted citizens, along with the City and County of Georgetown, raised enough money to restore the neglected auditorium. The Winyah Auditorium reopened its doors in 2011 and now serves as a cultural and civic center, as well as a performance venue showcasing music and dance arts. Surrounding the auditorium, the Winyah School building also houses The Georgetown School of Arts and Sciences, Coastal Optical, and Coastal Eye Group.
Visit the following link for more about historic Georgetown: historicgeorgetownsc.com
Photos courtesy of Tych & Walker Architects